On June 2, 2021, Rob Giesecke was sworn in as the newest Port Freeport Commissioner, joined by Commissioner Rudy Santos, who also took an oath to serve his second term, during a formal ceremony attended by family and friends. Commissioner Giesecke will serve a six-year term in Position 4, Precinct 2. Brazoria County Court at Law #1 and Probate Court Judge Courtney T. Gilbert conducted the swearing-in of Santos and Giesecke.

Commissioner Rob Giesecke is a long-time resident of Brazoria County. He is a commercial real estate broker and is actively engaged in the community. His involvement in a wide range of civic, business, and community activities includes the Brazoria County Republican Party where he serves as PAC Treasurer and as a precinct chair.

“I look forward to taking on this new challenge, and I will continue to support the priorities of the Navigation District voters and taxpayers while still maintaining the Port’s vitally important role as an economic engine for our area. I am honored to have the opportunity to contribute to and guide the vision of Port Freeport in the coming years,” Commissioner Giesecke said.

Commissioner Rudy Santos was first elected to the Port Freeport Commission in 2015 and will continue to serve in Position 6, Precinct 4. He has most recently served as Secretary for the Commission. Commissioner Santos is the current Project Manager in Building Programs for the Alvin Independent School District and was previously the Director of Maintenance and Operation for the Angleton Independent School District for more than 25 years. Commissioner Santos is heavily involved in the community, having served the City of Angleton for 22 years in various capacities including as mayor and a member of the city council. Along with his civic activities, Commissioner Santos is active with the Brazoria County 4-H, Angleton FFA, American Quarter Horse Association, and major Livestock Shows and Rodeos throughout the state.

“Port Freeport is poised for growth, as indicated with the recent groundbreaking on the Freeport Harbor Channel Improvement Project to allow for safer navigation of our channel and increased vessel sizes and traffic. It was a true learning experience in my first term on the Port Commission, and I feel I have the requisite knowledge in my second term to help continue to plan for and accommodate the economic growth the Port brings to our community, region and state,” Commissioner Santos said.

The Port Freeport Board of Commissioners is comprised of six members elected by the voters of the Port Freeport Navigation District to serve in staggered, six-year terms.

“On behalf of the Port Commission, I extend our congratulations to both Commissioners Santos and Giesecke. We look forward to working together to continue to advance the strategic initiatives of the Port to positively impact the citizens who work in and around our port and the consumers who benefit from the commodities we help bring to the region from around the world,” Port Commission Chairman Shane Pirtle said.

Port Freeport is a leading port in the export of crude oil and natural gas liquids and ranked 6th in chemicals, 15th in foreign waterborne tonnage, and 26th in containers. A 2019 Economic Impact Study by Texas A&M Transportation Institute revealed that, nationally, the Freeport Harbor Channel generates 279,780 jobs and has a total economic output of $149 billion. Port Freeport serves Atlantic Container Lines, AMPORTS, BASF, Chiquita Fresh N.A., CEMEX, CMA CGM, Dole Fresh Fruit, The Dow Chemical Company, Enterprise Products, Exxon Mobile, Freeport LNG, Glovis, Grimaldi Lines, Hoegh Autoliners, Kirby Marine, Liberty Global Logistics, Mammoet, MEGlobal, Phillips 66, Riviana Foods, Inc., Sallaum Lines, Tenaris, U.S Department of Energy, Wallenius Wilhelmsen, and Vulcan Materials Company.

Port Freeport is committed to keeping the local community informed of our operations and results. If you have questions or comments about this article, please email or call Jessica Follett, Public Affairs Manager.