It's on us. Share your news here.

Joseph Toomey elected again as chairman of Port Nola board

Joseph F. Toomey was elected to succeed Jack C. Jenson, Jr., as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans, June 22, 2023.

Posted on June 26, 2023

Joseph F. Toomey, a long-time state legislator, has been elected to serve again as the chairman of the board of commissioners overseeing the Port of New Orleans, the port said Thursday.

Toomey previously was chairman for the final year of his first term as a port board member, which ran from 2009 to 2013. He was again appointed to the board by the governor in 2019 and succeeds Jack C. Jenson, Jr., as chairman.

The port also said that Walter J. Leger Jr. was elected as Vice Chairman, and James J. Carter Jr. as Secretary-Treasurer for nine-month terms.

The appointments also cover the board of the New Orleans Public Belt Railway, which was acquired by Port Nola in 2018.

Toomy represented District 85 in the Louisiana State Legislature from 1984 until 2008. During that time he was a senior college administrator at Delgado Community College and later an insurance broker.

The port and public belt railway board consists of seven appointed members who serve voluntarily staggered terms of five years. Toomy and Jenson represent Jefferson Parish. Leger, Carter, Sharonda Williams and Darryl Berger represent Orleans Parish. Jeanne Ferrer represents St. Bernard Parish.


It's on us. Share your news here.
Submit Your News Today

Join Our
Click to Subscribe