Port NOLA commissioners elect Tara Hernandez to chair board

Article Image
Tara C. Hernandez

Posted October 1, 2019

Tara C. Hernandez has been elected to chair the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans.

Other officers elected are Darryl D. Berger as vice chairman and William H. Langenstein III as secretary-treasurer.

The three will serve in the same positions on the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad, acquired by the port on Feb. 1, 2018. The port's seven commissioners also serve as directors of the railroad board.

Hernandez is president of New Orleans-based JCH Properties+, a boutique urban real estate development firm that specializes in the conversion of underutilized real estate into residential, commercial and mixed-use redevelopment projects.

She joined the port board in July 2016 when she was appointed by Gov. John Bel Edwards. She succeeds Arnold B. Baker whose term as chairman expired this month. Baker will continue to serve on the board as a commissioner until his five-year term ends in April 2020.

Hernandez is the past chair of the board of directors for Greater New Orleans Inc. and also serves on the executive board of the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival Foundation and is a member of the Ochsner Health Foundation Board.

Source: nola.com